Tux Guitar

Open Discussion

Subject gp5 format

ynnorj

Hi!
I am actually studying the gp5 format, but it seems very tricky to crack the logic. Since you have already parsed it, would it be ok for you if I ask if i can have the gp5 format description?
thanks!

Julian

Hi, we replied you the contact mails you sended.
didn't you receibe them ?

ynnorj

I actually received a message, but it says that it would be great if I ask it here on tuxguitar forums.

ynnorj

Can you post the gp5 format description here? Thanks!

Julian

Hi,

> but it says that it would be great if I ask it here on tuxguitar forums.
Sure, i mean about the "would it be ok for you if I ask..." question. you don't need ask it again :)

Well, about GP5.
We don't have a "detailed" documentation of it.
The only thing what we have is the source code.
So we can help you with questions you have about the sources.
The source code of GP5 file format is at:
TuxGuitar-gtp/src/org/herac/tuxguitar/io/gtp

Or you can take a look to the SVN repository:
http://tuxguitar.svn.sourceforge.net/viewvc/tuxguitar/tags/1.0/TuxGuitar-gtp/src/org/herac/tuxguitar/io/gtp/GP5InputStream.java?view=markup

It maybe will also help you,
DGuitar people has documented GP4 file format:
http://dguitar.sourceforge.net/en/index.html

This is not same as GP5, but allmost GP4 things are included on GP5.

mckagan

Hi Julian!

Do you know what attitude Arobas music (Guitar Pro publisher) has regarding the reverse-engineering of their file format?

They could be pleased because their file format is more widely spread. Or they could be angry too because other free software disturb their business.

Julian

Well, i replied you on the contact mail..

I didn't find any license file that denied access to the file format.

Ofcouse i don't know the answer of the second question.
our plans was never fuck with 3d party business. just give to the opensource community a tablature editor.