Tux Guitar

Help

  Forums : Help
Subject Speed trainer and looping.



Author Message
Tor Einar
Post: Feb 7th 2007 at 8:42 PM

Is it possible to set up a part of the piece to loop and vary tempo from a start tempo via increments up to the current tempo? Like the speed-trainer in Guitar Pro 4 and 5. This is very useful for studying a piece. You know - learn to play it.

If not, and if you where to implement it, it would be very useful to be able to reduce tempo again down to a userselected tempo after you have reached the current tempo, and then hold this tempo. This is a feature that is not in Guitar Pro, but would be very useful.


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: Feb 8th 2007 at 5:33 PM

Hi,
not that feature doesn't exists... i'll put at the todo list.


Back to Top
 
logan
Post: Mar 1st 2007 at 4:55 PM

i have used guitar pro for windows and this program comes little close in cloning. But one major part that i like in Guitar PRo was the ability to slow down tempo and repeat certain parts of songs for training.

Please add support for this

logan


Back to Top
 
DLWoodie
Post: Nov 12th 2007 at 7:45 PM

I also really need loop and vary tempo!!!

TuxGuitar would be perfect except for the lack of this feature, unfortunatly it is a lot less useful to me without it....... My guitar playing needs all the help it can get.

I would rather not have to use wine, and vmware cant keep time.


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: Nov 13th 2007 at 3:04 PM

Hi,
this feature already exists on CVS version.


Back to Top
 
Sascha
Post: Nov 30th 2007 at 3:14 PM

Hello,
where can I download the CVS-Version of TuxGuitar?
Thanks


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: Nov 30th 2007 at 3:29 PM

Hi,

Exec this on a terminal:

# it'll ask you a password.. just type "Enter"
cvs -d:pserver:anonymous@tuxguitar.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/tuxguitar login

# download the sources
cvs -z3 -d:pserver:anonymous@tuxguitar.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/tuxguitar co -P TuxGuitar

see here for detailed info:
http://sourceforge.net/cvs/?group_id=155855

then you'll need build the sources
make sure you have "ant" and "jdk" installed.

this are steps to build:

# generate a source release
ant -Ddist.version=cvs
cd TuxGuitar/
tar xfz TuxGuitar-cvs-src.tar.gz
cd TuxGuitar-cvs-src/

Now, edit "build.properties" file, and set the right "swt" paths ( if you need download swt, it's available at: http://www.eclipse.org/swt/ )

Then, just type:
ant

Bye


Back to Top
 
Sascha
Post: Dec 3rd 2007 at 6:39 PM

Sorry, but I don't understand. You wrote:
"Excec this in a terminal"
Please tell me, what do you meat with "terminal"???

Thank you.


Back to Top
 
Auria
Post: Dec 3rd 2007 at 9:34 PM

Sascha : are you on Linux? These isntructions are for linux i believe.

Anyway if you don't even know what a terminal is i wouldn't attempt this stuff :)


Back to Top
 
Sascha
Post: Dec 4th 2007 at 6:18 AM

You are right, I'm not an expierence pragrammer, and I use windows, but I try and learn. The only think I want is to have a sourcecode of TuxGuitar, which is able after building to reduce the tempo. As you know, the version for download at the time can't do this. Do anywhere have a solution for me, where and how I can get this to build and run on windows? Please explain in simple steps.
Thanks


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: Dec 4th 2007 at 8:25 AM

Well, as Auria say these are linux instructions, but it should run under win if you have "cvs" client installed.

> what do you meat with "terminal"???
the terminal ( or console ) under windows i think this is called "Symbol System" (not sure of this).. is something like the old "DOS" Shell..

To open it go from menu
"start -> excecute" ( i don't know the exactly item names )
and put: "cmd" in the excecute dialog.

CVS client:
as i saw on the web, the best way for win users seems to be by using "WinCVS".. see here for instructions:
http://sourceforge.net/docman/display_doc.php?docid=766&group_id=1#installation

WinCVS will make the work of this 2 lines :
***
cvs -d:pserver:anonymous@tuxguitar.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/tuxguitar login
cvs -z3 -d:pserver:anonymous@tuxguitar.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/tuxguitar co -P TuxGuitar
***


then you will need exec the "ant"... do you have it installed ???


Back to Top
 
JonE
Post: Dec 5th 2007 at 8:16 AM

I might be missing it, but is there an easy way to select the section of music that you'd like to loop?


Back to Top
 
Sonny
Post: Apr 25th 2009 at 8:03 PM

What JonE said:

"I might be missing it, but is there an easy way to select the section of music that you'd like to loop?"

What's the point of markers, if you can't set the player to loop between them.


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: Apr 29th 2009 at 5:59 PM

Sonny: "What's the point of markers, if you can't set the player to loop between them. "

If you look this application as a guitar trainer, so maybe markers have no sense.
but i notice you that the plans of this application is to be a "Tablature Editor", where markers are usefull to mark segments of song and later can find them to edit easily.

However, there are plans to add loops on selected sections only, and markers can be also usefull for make that selection.


Back to Top
 
Stefano
Post: May 13th 2009 at 1:52 PM

I think that at the moment to practice only a part of a song the only way is to copy the measures you want to practice, then open a new song and paste the measures.

I think that the possibility to loop parts of a song is useful also when you are writing down a tab from records.

Anyway TuxGuitar looks like to be a very good tabeditor.


Back to Top
 
Electrodud
Post: Aug 22nd 2009 at 10:12 AM

Maybe a work around would be to be able to "Cut and Paste" a few measures that we would like to practice into a NEW file and just practice those few measures in the new file...

I just bought this software and am new and OF COURSE the first thing I looked for was the feature of being able to practice a few measures over and over again.

If this is not possible this software is basically worthless for learning new songs if you can't LOOP/Repeat measures you need to practice more than others

my 2 cents


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: Aug 22nd 2009 at 6:18 PM

> I just bought this software
What do you mean with "bought" ?
This software is free. does anybody sell you it ?

http://www.tuxguitar.com.ar/license.html
http://www.tuxguitar.com.ar/download.html


This trainer feature was already implemented on development version, so will be available at next release.


Back to Top
 
Dave
Post: Sep 10th 2009 at 11:04 AM

Hiya, when I type ant -Ddist.version=cvs
I get:
buildfile, build .xml doesn't exist
Build failed!

Please help :-)


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: Sep 12th 2009 at 3:43 PM

Dave,

I assume you got tuxguitar from SVN..
what did you download ??
the full project list? or just "TuxGuitar" project ?

if you downloaded all you must go to TuxGuitar folder,
and there type "ant"

at -Ddist.version, you don't should do that..
you should edit the file "build.properties" and set the properties there.


Back to Top
 
Michal P?nka
Post: Nov 18th 2009 at 1:31 PM

Hi,

I just want to vote for a "selection loops" for neverendless training as well as for the "selection loops with incremental tempo - the training mode".

Thanks for your effort. I don't understand why I found this software so late. It's wonderful!


Back to Top
 
Nick
Post: Nov 19th 2009 at 4:12 PM

I agree. I just got the software and was looking to see if you could loop a selection; say measures 3-5.
I take it based on your request taht can't be done.


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: Nov 21st 2009 at 3:26 PM

This feature was already included in latest version.


Back to Top
 
Pete
Post: Nov 5th 2010 at 9:33 PM

Is this feature included in version 1.2 but missing in version 1.1?
Unfortunately in the Ubuntu reps there is only version 1.1 available, and when I install the deb for 1.2, I can't manage to get the plugins that I can install from the rep for version 1.1 (besides that I didn't find the option in 1.2, it was the only reason I upgraded)
Is version 1.2 included in the Ubuntu 10.10 rep?
(maybe a reason to upgrade my distro...)
I'm using Ubuntu 10.04 x64

For everyone who uses Tuxguitar for guitar practice, this feature would be awesome, it really is the only thing I'm missing (coming from guitar pro)...


Back to Top
 
Pete
Post: Nov 9th 2010 at 9:21 PM

Just upgraded to Maverick Meerkat which has Tuxguitar 1.2 and plugins in the rep, I found the option, bless you :-)
Sooo cool, seriously, now I can really start practising...
Love that program!!!


Back to Top