Tux Guitar

Problems

Subject Midi not working...similar to other problems



Author Message
J-moges
Post: Jun 12th 2010 at 8:36 PM

I have read some of the other "midi not working" posts but none of them are working for me. I have changed my midi port to the Java one but it sounds terrible. I was using the Microsoft Midi Mapper. I never touched the settings before then when I exported my song to midi all of my TuxGuitar songs lost their sound. I changed the Midi port and it worked but sounded terrible so I changed it back and then didn't get sound again. Aside from a reinstall, does anyone have any other suggestions as to how to get this working again?


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: Jun 13th 2010 at 4:31 PM

I'm not exactly sure what you mean with "when i exported my song to midi... "
What did you exactly do after export the file ?? i ask because, the exporter just write a file, but it don't open/close or use any MIDI Device at export time.
Did you open the *.mid file with any external MIDI player ?? and then.. Microsoft Midi Mapper stopped work ?


Back to Top
 
J-moges
Post: Jun 13th 2010 at 5:44 PM

Yes, I went, File>Export>Export Midi then played the midi file through Windows Media Player, so I guess that is the way this messed up? Then I tried to play the song through TuxGuitar again and the midi wasn't working.


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: Jun 13th 2010 at 5:59 PM

But now, if you want to play the midi file in windows media player, does the sound work ???

what about in windows volume control.. isn't the midi synthesizer muted ?


Back to Top
 
J-moges
Post: Jun 13th 2010 at 6:48 PM

Yes, it still works in Windows Media PLayer but not in TuxGuitar


Back to Top
 
J-moges
Post: Jun 13th 2010 at 6:51 PM

FIXED

Checked control panel

Thanks Julian


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: Jun 13th 2010 at 7:05 PM

So it seems that windows media player, mutes the midi synthesizer after play the file ?


Back to Top
 
J-moges
Post: Jun 16th 2010 at 4:08 AM

Yes, I have had other programs and devices that I have used mute my microphone or different audio devices. I'll have to start checking control panel first from now on...


Back to Top