Tux Guitar

Problems

Subject no sound in ubuntu studio 10.10

butmos

Hey, not sure if this has been brought up, I did a quick search and didn't see, but if it has I apologise and would appreciate a redirect.anyway so I recently (yesterday) reinstalled ubuntu 10.10 and made the switch to studio edition through synaptic, now I get no sound from TuxGuitar, it worked just fine with my old installation. I'm still pretty new to linux and all so bear with me but when I tried to run tux manually from terminal it started, but I got this message:

/dev/sequencer: No such file or directory

any ideas folks?

butmos

to add some more information, it seems as if all of the synthesizer programs error out too. I figured I would try playing simple MIDI files as well, as per the suggestions in the documentation on here and nothing will play. I didn't do anything different from my last ubuntu 10.10 installation other than install the studio suite, I'm at a total loss here, so any help would be awesome.

someone

You're not alone in that case, I got the same problem...

Tuxfan

me too :/

Ignatz

Hi all,

I can only give the following general advice:

1. In Tuxguitar check the Sound Options under Preferences and try any alternative options available.

2. Check that "tuxguitar-jsa"? is installed. (This is an add-on available in the Ubuntu Software Centre which you will find under the entry/installer for Tuxguitar.)

3. You can also search Ubuntu Forums for guidance (http://ubuntuforums.org/). There are lots of posts relating to Tuxguitar.

I don't think this is a problem with Tuxguitar; rather it is down to the rapid change in Ubuntu. If you can't find a solution then post your problem to the Ubuntu Forums; there will be someone who can help you.

Please post back if your problem is solved or if it persists.

Sergii

Ignatz, thank you!!

Executing
sudo apt-get install tuxguitar-jsa

fixed my problems with sound :)

Duane

Thank you Ignatz and Sergii,