Tux Guitar

Problems

Subject Won't load files



Author Message
colbert
Post: Mar 17th 2008 at 3:38 AM

Hi there, I am using v1.0rc2-1 on Arch Linux, just installed.

If I double-click a file from thunar file manager to open it, for example a .gp3 or .gp4, tuxguitar opens but is a blank file everytime. I can only seem to open my tab files by running tuxguitar and hitting File > Open. I have had the 0.9 working for a long time just fine but just installed this new version and this is happening. Is there a way to solve this? It would be much appreciated.

Thanks :)


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: Mar 17th 2008 at 1:23 PM

Hi, "v1.0rc2-1" is not an official release.
if you have a thirdparty release (maybe from arch repositories ), i canĀ“t help you without see the launcher script:
tuxguitar is written in java, so there is not an "executable" file as default.
the launcher scripts are who call "java" command, and set the arguments.
so, something seems wrong on your launcher script.


Back to Top
 
colbert
Post: Mar 17th 2008 at 4:42 PM

Hi Julian, thanks for your response. I have the binary in /usr/bin, and it execs /usr/share/tuxguitar-1.0-rc2-linux-x86/tuxguitar. Here is the contents of this launcher:

#!/bin/bash
##SCRIPT DIR
DIR_NAME=`dirname "$0"`
DIR_NAME=`cd "$DIR_NAME"; pwd`
cd "${DIR_NAME}"
##JAVA
if [ "${JAVA}" == "" ]; then
if [ "${JAVA_HOME}" != "" ]; then
JAVA=${JAVA_HOME}/bin/java
else
JAVA=java
fi
fi
##CLASSPATH
CLASSPATH=$CLASSPATH:./tuxguitar.jar:lib/swt.jar:lib/itext.jar:share/
##LIBRARY_PATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=${LD_LIBRARY_PATH}:lib/
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=${LD_LIBRARY_PATH}:/lib
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=${LD_LIBRARY_PATH}:/usr/lib
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=${LD_LIBRARY_PATH}:/usr/lib/jni
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=${LD_LIBRARY_PATH}:/usr/local/lib
##MAINCLASS
MAINCLASS=org.herac.tuxguitar.gui.TGMain
##JVM ARGUMENTS
VM_ARGS="-Xms128m -Xmx128m"
##LAUNCH
${JAVA} ${VM_ARGS} -cp :${CLASSPATH} -Dtuxguitar.share.path="share/" -Djava.library.path="${LD_LIBRARY_PATH}" ${MAINCLASS} "$1" "$2"


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: Mar 17th 2008 at 4:57 PM

mmm ok, you show me the script of:
/usr/share/tuxguitar-1.0-rc2-linux-x86/tuxguitar ( true ?? )

that is the original file..
but how is that file called on /usr/bin script ?

is /usr/bin script adding the arguments ?

try this on a terminal:
# this line show print help and exit
/usr/share/tuxguitar-1.0-rc2-linux-x86/tuxguitar --help
# if this line don't do same as previous, so "--help" arg is missing
/usr/bin/tuxguitar --help


Back to Top
 
colbert
Post: Mar 17th 2008 at 5:13 PM

Sorry, here is the /usr/bin/tuxguitar contents:

#!/bin/sh
exec /usr/share/tuxguitar-1.0-rc2-linux-x86/tuxguitar


It's just executing the java launcher I believe.


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: Mar 17th 2008 at 5:35 PM

As i thougth.
it call the other script, but don't add the arguments.

exec /usr/share/tuxguitar-1.0-rc2-linux-x86/tuxguitar

must be replaced by:
exec /usr/share/tuxguitar-1.0-rc2-linux-x86/tuxguitar $@

NOTE: $@ represent all receibed arguments. by adding it to /usr/bin/tuxguitar, it should work without problems.

I suggest you report this problem to Arch linux package mantainers. to solve this problem to all arch users.


Back to Top
 
colbert
Post: Mar 17th 2008 at 7:51 PM

Damn, it still doesn't do it. I double-click a gp3/gp4 and tuxguitar opens blank still :( I added the "$@" to /usr/bin/tuxguitar.


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: Mar 17th 2008 at 8:34 PM

mmm, ok.. we need try by steps.
if you run on command line:
/usr/bin/tuxguitar ANY_FILE.gp3

does it work ?


Back to Top
 
colbert
Post: Mar 17th 2008 at 9:20 PM

Here is the output:

"/media/stuff/guitar/tabstolearn # /usr/bin/tuxguitar while_my_guitar_gently_weeps_ver2.gp3
javax.sound.midi.MidiUnavailableException: Audio Device Unavailable
at com.sun.media.sound.MixerSynth.implOpen(MixerSynth.java:165)
at com.sun.media.sound.AbstractMidiDevice.doOpen(AbstractMidiDevice.java:144)
at com.sun.media.sound.AbstractMidiDevice.open(AbstractMidiDevice.java:108)
at org.herac.tuxguitar.player.impl.jsa.midiport.MidiPortSynthesizer.getSynthesizer(Unknown Source)
at org.herac.tuxguitar.player.impl.jsa.midiport.MidiPortSynthesizer.open(Unknown Source)
at org.herac.tuxguitar.player.base.MidiPlayer.loadPort(Unknown Source)
at org.herac.tuxguitar.player.base.MidiPlayer.openPort(Unknown Source)
at org.herac.tuxguitar.player.base.MidiPlayer.addPortProvider(Unknown Source)
at org.herac.tuxguitar.gui.system.plugins.base.TGMidiPortProviderPlugin.addPluin(Unknown Source)
at org.herac.tuxguitar.gui.system.plugins.base.TGMidiPortProviderPlugin.setEnabled(Unknown Source)
at org.herac.tuxguitar.gui.system.plugins.base.TGPluginList.setEnabled(Unknown Source)
at org.herac.tuxguitar.gui.system.plugins.TGPluginManager.openPlugins(Unknown Source)
at org.herac.tuxguitar.gui.TuxGuitar.displayGUI(Unknown Source)
at org.herac.tuxguitar.gui.TGMain.main(Unknown Source)
/media/stuff/guitar/tabstolearn #"


Tuxguitar opens blank again. Mind you, the sound DOES work just fine when I played a tab (opening it from inside tuxguitar already running of course).


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: Mar 17th 2008 at 9:36 PM

and what about with this script:
/usr/share/tuxguitar-1.0-rc2-linux-x86/tuxguitar while_my_guitar_gently_weeps_ver2.gp3

if it work so still something wrong on /usr/bin/tuxguitar


Back to Top
 
colbert
Post: Mar 17th 2008 at 9:40 PM

Same thing with that command :(


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: Mar 18th 2008 at 10:40 PM

i'm not at home to test it now, but i think, you must add the full path to the file.


Back to Top
 
colbert
Post: Mar 19th 2008 at 3:17 AM

You are right! I put the full path and now the files load! So how can I fix the launcher to do this for every file I open from thunar??

This is much appreciated for your help, thanks so much! Hope I can get this working now :) :)


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: Mar 20th 2008 at 3:15 PM

Well i use thunar too, and it as default add the full file path.
i don't have problems to open files with thunar by 2 clicks.

Are you maybe triyng with a ".desktop" file ?? ( not /usr/bin script file )
i meam, does a file /usr/share/applications/tuxguitar.desktop exists ?

did you test go to file properties (on Thunar menu) and select ?
Open With: "Other application" -> "Use a Custom Command":
/usr/share/tuxguitar-1.0-rc2-linux-x86/tuxguitar


Back to Top
 
colbert
Post: Mar 20th 2008 at 7:32 PM

Wow that works, awesome!!! It now loads files perfectly! Thanks so much Julian!!


Back to Top