Tux Guitar

Problems

Subject LilyPond export: Every new line starts with a clef

Jasmin Bajric

Hello experts!
First of all thanks for the LilyPond export: That combines two wonderful worlds to a new galaxy - TuxGuitar & automated engraving, gorgeus!
Right now is discoverd a problem which might be related to the LilyPond export. If I compare the PDF-Export of TuxGuitar and the PDF coming from LilyPond (from the very same song, of course!), I see that the LilyPond PDF starts every new line with a clef (or 'TAB' in the tablature). The PDF outoput of TuxGuitar on the other hand, draws only at the beginning (in the first line) a clef resp. 'TAB'.
Unfortunatelly I am not experienced enough to fix it in the ly-file -- but if it is a bug, fixing it in TuxGuitar would be help in general.

May be my description is a bit quriky -- looking at the two PDFs would clear what I mean -- but I do not see any chance to uplaod the PDFs to this forum. May be it would be a good idea to establish an uploading area?

Guys, thanks a lot for this great program -- and perhaps you can check about the clef problem?

Best Regards
Jasmin

Julian

Hi,
You are a little confussed ( i think )..
Lilypond is a musical language compiler ( i don't know the exactly definition )...
tuxguitar don't say lilypond "add clef on all lines" or not..
tuxguitar just export all "notes" on a text file ( .ly )..
and lilypond, generate his own score.

What i mean is, tuxgutiar "don't" render lilypond files.. it's lilypond who do that.

PDF exporter try to generate a PDF (with itext library) of what tuxguitar render on the screen (using the printer layout, but with other page sizes and DPI )

while lilypond Exporter, just export the notes, tempo, keysignatures, etc.. on a text/plain file.
then with lilypond you can convert that file on a nicely PDF.

Clef on all lines: that is "perfectly" valid on the music notation. so that isn't a lilypond bug.( and maybe tuxguitar should do that too )