Tux Guitar

Problems

Subject fretboard size change redraw problem



Author Message
kanguru007
Post: May 23rd 2008 at 3:13 AM

(at least on the mac)

when the fretboard changes size the area above it is not redrawn

(like when a guitar track is selected and you select a bass)


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: May 23rd 2008 at 10:44 AM

Hi,

> when the fretboard changes
does it happend when you resize the main window ?? or only when you change to a track with different string count ?


Back to Top
 
kanguru007
Post: May 23rd 2008 at 11:55 AM

when I resize the main windows everything is OK

the problem happens when I change to a track with a different string count


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: May 23rd 2008 at 12:04 PM

Can you run tuxguitar under a terminal console and let me know if it is throwing any error when it happens please ??


Back to Top
 
kanguru007
Post: May 23rd 2008 at 2:01 PM

No error messages whatsoever on the terminal console.

I had a more careful look and it looks like the screen is redrawn before the variable the new fretboard window height is calculated.

Detailed description:

When I switch from a 6 string to a 4 string track,
the 4 string fretboard is drawn but its position and window height are as if it was a 6 string
The controls just on top of the fretboard will also be wrongly positioned and damaged by the tracklist window

When I switch from the 4 string to the 6 string
the 6 string fretboard is drawn but its position and window size are as if it was a 4 string, the 2 bottom strings will not be visible
The controls just above will be positioned right but they are damaged by the two high fretboard window (it should be the right height for 4 strings but it is 6)


No error on the terminal window:

Macintosh-3:MacOS jdc$ ./tuxguitar
trying to loadtuxguitar-coreaudio-jni (void loadLibrary)
trying to loadtuxguitar-coreaudio-jni.jnilib (bool loadFromClassPath)
calling file.getAbsolutePath() : /Applications/TuxGuitar.app/Contents/MacOS/tuxguitar-coreaudio-jni.jnilib


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: May 23rd 2008 at 3:31 PM

Ok, i'll try to see on the code what can be happening
thanks for report


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: May 23rd 2008 at 3:44 PM

Did you build tuxguitar yourself ?
if yes, what "swt" version did you use ?


Back to Top
 
kanguru007
Post: May 24th 2008 at 1:52 AM

No, I'm using the 1.0RC4 Mac version downloaded from this site.

It looks like a problem of the window redrawing too soon.
A subsequent redraw (window resized for ex.) makes things right.

Is this not happening with other users? I'm using Mac OS X 10.5.2 on a Powerbook G4


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: May 24th 2008 at 2:35 PM

> Is this not happening with other users?
well nobody reported this before.

If you hide the fretboard, by clicking the toolbar button ( or menu View -> Show fretboard ) does the window layout as when you resize it ??


Back to Top
 
kanguru007
Post: May 24th 2008 at 7:27 PM

When I hide or unhide the fretfoard everything is OK

I have defined a shortcut key to do this, I press it twice after I change tracks and the problem goes away


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: May 24th 2008 at 7:47 PM

mmm but that shouldn't be the solution...

Can you please check if the problem still happen with this svn version ?
http://tuxguitar.svn.sourceforge.net/viewvc/*checkout*/tuxguitar/trunk/TuxGuitar/tuxguitar-svn.app.zip


Back to Top
 
kanguru007
Post: May 25th 2008 at 1:09 PM

Yes, it still happens


Back to Top
 
Anonymous
Post: May 25th 2008 at 4:35 PM

what about with this newone ?
http://tuxguitar.svn.sourceforge.net/viewvc/*checkout*/tuxguitar/trunk/TuxGuitar/tuxguitar-svn.app.zip

it's very hard to fix this bug when i can't reproduce it on my PC


Back to Top
 
kanguru007
Post: May 25th 2008 at 11:58 PM

Its fixed. Thanks!


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: May 26th 2008 at 12:13 AM

Ok, so i think i understand where is the problem.
now the new problem is about this bug can exists on other places of tuxguitar.
I'll try tomorrow to fix your other reported problem of "mixer" (i think it's exactly the same issue)

please, let me know if you found this same thing on other places of the application.
e.g: on some dialogs like mixer, piano, transport etc.. what happen if you change the skin or language.. do the dialogs adjust to new sizes ??

another thing is.. when you add/remove a track as default (if you didn't modify the settings ) the footer table must autoadjust the height to the track count.. is it running ?

Thanks for report and help me to fix it.


Back to Top
 
kanguru007
Post: May 26th 2008 at 6:46 PM

I've been checking and on my computer it does not happen in any other place.

p.s.

The other problem I reported in the mixer is not about the visuals, a six track song plays as if a solo button is active, this button being the 9th button (now not visible) that was activated before the song was loaded.

(I think you just forget to reset the higher solo buttons when a song with fewer tracks is loaded)


Back to Top
 
Julian
Post: May 26th 2008 at 6:49 PM

ahh, the track isn't visible..
so i think it can be a java sound api bug ( there isn't a reset funcion.. all times you play a song a new sequence is builded )
can you try selecting "TuxGuitar Sequencer" on "Tools -> Settings" Sound : Midi Sequencer ?


Back to Top
 
kanguru007
Post: May 27th 2008 at 12:07 AM

Using the "TuxGuitar Sequencer" it works right.


Back to Top