Tux Guitar

Problems

Subject For ALL your sound problems

PeacePipe

Just about every sound problem can be solved by reading and applying the instructions in the Documentation / Common Problems / No Sound In Tuxguitar? section. It's accurate, solid information for troubleshooting your Sound problems. A lot of good work went into it, so make use of it. (No, I am not a developer of Tuxguitar, but I am a programmer and can appreciate a good work and documentation when I see it.) Thank you tux guys!

GarinHess

This is good advice. Note that PeacePipe is referring to the documentation on the website, not the documentation under the Help menu in the software itself. I checked there first and could not find the Common Problems section. I eventually thought to check on the website and the guidance was perfect. In a few minutes I had the sound working.

Thank you PeacePipe!

Julian

The issue of it, is the multiplatform problems.
We have about 6 sound plugins on tuxguitar, so each one may uses different configuration.
But it is confused for a new user, that read documentation of something that he haven't..
Suppose that a windows user have sound problems.
he read somehting about install timidity, try if snd_seq module is loaded, etc..... (this doc is valid for Linux only, and timidity for tuxguitar-alsa, or tuxguitar-oss only).

What we need here, is split documentation for each platform.
so, win users will see one doc, gnu/linux other, and macos other..
But we have another problem too.. is that the GNU/Linux distributions, and ways to install software.

If you download the files from here, i can know what exactly did you installed to put docs.

but if you installed if from your distribution repositories, it's different. because you may don't have all plugins installed.
Suppose that you don't have tuxguitar-alsa installed.
you may spend time reading how to configure tuxguitar with timidity. and it will never works.

Note: the doc, is currently HTML.