Tux Guitar

Suggestions

Subject PowerTab import

bluesguy

Any chance of adding the ability to import PowerTab files?

brunology

You should already be able to import PowerTab files.
I actually can.

There is only a problem (as far as I know): Tuxguitar doesn't show the low melody notes of Power Tab.

Look this thread:
http://www.tuxguitar.com.ar/forum_posts.html?fid=4&tid=289&view=NEW

brunology

I meant you should be able to OPEN a ptb file.

I can't understand what you mean with IMPORTING a ptb file.

Wait for the answer of the developers or more expert users (I know quite well PTB but I'm still a newbie with Tuxguitar).

PETER DRIVER

i HAVE TAUGHT GUITAR FOR 38 YEARS NOW AND WANT TO CONVERT MY STUDENTS TO USE OF TECHNOLOGY AS A SUPPORT PROCESS. TAB IS A GOOD INTRODUCTION BUT UNSATISFACTORY AS A LONG-TERM VIEW, SO THE NEED FOR SERIOUS SCORING IS VITAL. THIS MEANS THE 2 PART POLYPHONY NEEDS TO BE IMPLEMENTED SO THAT UPWARD AND DOWNWARD TAILS ARE SHOWN IN THE SCORE. OTHERWISE THIS IS TOTALLY UNREALISTIC SCORING. I'VE BEEN BANGING AWAY AT THE GUITAR PRO GUYS ABOUT THIS TOO! NEVERTHELESS THIS IS A GREAT PLAYBACK PROGRAMME FOR BOTH PLATFORMS.

leo

... there are some files in PTB format that tuxguitar can't open, even tuxguitar 1.0rc1 (give an error message instead, saying that 'Cannot Open: file:(..)');

is it possible to improve PTB support?
(the tab i've tried to open was this one: http://www.powertabs.net/tablature.php?id=24833)

Julian

Hi,
Thanks for report. i fixed the bug (and others i found on ptb importer). You can found the changes on CVS version or wait fot next RC.

leo

a big THANKS!! =D

George

Great job on this program, by far the best Guitar program for the PC. Thanks for adding the power tab import because that's what I used to use for the majority of my tabs, the only other thing that I would like is the export of power tabs. It would be greatly appreciated if you did this.

DrMario